Monday, September 21, 2009

To.. Before and Afters take 2 !

Our bedroom has been the last (besides the baby room, no baby yet though so I dont count it as not finished, it hasnt even begun!) room to finish, weve painted our kitchen, both bathrooms, living room, and finally..the bedroom!  Maybe this is the place we should have started first because seriously, I hated going in my bedroom and thats an important room.  But no one ever sees it so I put it at the bottom of the list.  Dan and I are planning on buying a new bed from IKEA as a Christmas present to each other, but of course that all depends how we are financially. 


With this awesome headboard behind it  - its hard to see but the things on each side actually hide behind the headboard and you pull them out for your 'night stand' then you can push them back to hide.  Good way to save space. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/80109421

Here are our before, during, and after pictures of our bedroom now (new bed coming in Dec. :)



sad pathetic room :(




Dan fell asleep during the drying process

room is chaos at this point lol


calming blue!


much better, i really love the color. hard to get it in pictures probably but its very relaxing :)


Thursday, September 10, 2009

To.. living in the present! :)

Yesterday I was busy reading blogs and reading other sorts of stuff online and I ended up reading a similiar thing in two different places. I feel like 'someone' was trying to tell me something so I will share.

http://powertochange.com/life/giftorpossession/
This article was talking about how we dont value time enough and appreciate life ENOUGH, which I totally agree with. Most work days I am waiting for 5 oclock to come. I feel like Im just wasting the day away. No wonder I think that time flies. If I would reflect and enjoy every thing I do, I think I would find more joy in my life and reduce stress. I have all the time in the world, I always have time to do stuff.

Dan is a good reminder of this. He tries to cuddle or spend time with me or whatever, and Im always trying to wash the dishes or clean or something since I feel like ' I dont have time'. Which actually is a lie, because I do. Dan reminds me he wants to be with me NOW and the other stuff can wait, I totally agree, he is WAY more important, I should give that time to him, not chores. I can do them after I spend time with him.

Maybe its a female thing I dont know. I always say I can never relax until everything is done or else I just think about how I need to do those things. But Im consciously going to change my way of thinking.

I read a blog yesterday, the writer asked herself this: "When did we become so fast paced and stop desiring to take in the beauty of the world? Sometimes are we so fixated on the destination that we can’t enjoy the ride?" I totally agree. Ive been waiting for Dan to finish school, waiting for us to have kids, waiting to move somewhere warm. I think its good to look forward to things but it seems like at some point you just wish your whole life away. You stop living in the moment and you are only living for the future. Then your kids are grown and you are waiting for grandchildren. Why not enjoy the time you have before you have kids? Or the time before you move somewhere else? These are questions I ask myself. I like (I use this word loosely when it comes to working lol) working full time, being able to do what I want, I have plenty of alone time with Dan. I dont want to get all caught up (which i do) in wanting our lives to move forward, I want to enjoy our lives now! :) I know that once we do have children, we will reminense about the times before kids, or the times when Dan was in school or when we were working a part time job together.

Im going to enjoy every minute and stop waiting for "5 o'clock".

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

To.. SUMMER!!

Aw, summer really came and went huh? Its kind of sad that its not September and crazy how fast June-Aug went. Seriously, wow. I had a great summer though and I love fall weather so Im ready for it!! This past weekend was perfect. I loved the weather even though it was probably a little more on the chilly side then I prefer but still nice for cuddling under blankets with the windows open. I love that! :)

We didnt really do much last weekend which was awesome. On Friday Dan and I worked an event for our part time job. It was for a mans 80th bday party. This old couple had a ridiculous house in Champaign. Im a fan of houses that dont look like everyone elses. Yeah you can go to that crazy ridiculous neighborhood off of Staley (forgot the name at the moment) and you will find million dollar homes easily. My boss lives there actually lol. But they all have the same feel, and thats not an original feeling. This house that we worked at on Friday was crazy! First off from the outside, it didnt even look like a house, it looked like a place where you would go to work but really nice. My first instinct was that all the rich neighbors invested in this building and they just have parties there lol.. this was obviously before I went in there.
When we walked in it was clear that these people lived here. It was a nice house, it had a downstairs and an upstairs but you couldnt tell that from outside. In one part of their living room they had a place cut out in the floor that had railings around it. When you looked over the railing there was a mini waterfall with rocks and stuff (like a hotel) and then a huge tree growing out of it with lights on it. It was HUGE. I never found out if it was real or not. My coworker thought it wasnt because what would you do with the roots? That could possibly mess up your foundation, so probably fake. Anyways it was still cool. They had mulitiple sky lights and a huge patio, lots of giant windows. It was a fun party to work. The company we work for always has cute ideas. For this party there was a slider station with lots of options and a mac n cheese stations with all the fixings .. crab, lobster, bacon, cheese, sausage, etc. (There was so much stuff I cant remember! lol) We were incredibly tired after it, I think we got home around 10 so we put in a good 6 hours that day.

On Saturday Dan and I hung out on the couch, I read and he studied. We took the dogs to run and play frisbee while he golfed and then after dinner we volunteered at church. There was an international fair this weekend celebrating all the countries so we helped scoop food. I was glad that we were able to help!

Dan and my dad went golfing on Sunday and I went to church and grocery shopping. By the time I got home Dan was in bed studying and I joined him. I was able to finish my book that day.... success! :) It was the perfect day to spend lots of time together. I made biscuits and gravy and then sliders and mac n cheese for dinner. (wonder where I got that idea? :)